Welcome to Help Thyself!

Today’s verse:   Matthew 19: 26  Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”  

I am passionate in  my desire to help inspire people to improve their lives. Mostly this will be about diet and nutrition, but the ideas can be applied to any other “vice” in your life such as smoking, drinking, drug use, etc. Each day’s entry will contain a sample recipe / diet for the day, as well as well as an inspirational verse.

Let me start by clarifying that I am NOT a nutritionist, but I am a Christian and I believe that with God, all things are possible. I believe that daily prayer to God will help you to achieve whatever goals you want to set for yourself.

Start by focusing on a goal. I am going to use a diet as my example, but apply it to your particular situation. Today, when you wake up, promise God that you will eat nutrionally, just for today. Do not set a weight loss goal or a time period for your diet. This can be so discouraging if you fall off the wagon, Just promise that you will do it today. When you feel the urge to eat something that is not good for, think of your promise to God. It is amazing how a simple promise can keep us on track. God will help you to reach your goal – if you feel tempted, just pray for strength to stick to your goal, just for today.

I am working on cutting back on sweets, which are my downfall. I eat fairly healthy meals, exercise regularly and then ruin it by eating tons of sweets daily! I can easily sit down and finish off a pack of cookies or a tub of ice cream. Instead of not eating sweets, and deny myself completely, which will lead to failure, I promise to God that for today I will only eat one square of chocolate, or one marshmallow, or one oatmeal cookie.

Good luck and trust in God! Let me hear your comments and suggestions, or let me know how you are doing on your quest to a better life through faith!

Healthy Living Menu:  (adapted from Prevention Magazine‘s 28 day challenge)

Breakfast:   Healthy Oatmeal
1 cup oatmeal made with 4 oz. 2% or skim milk
Top with 1 Tbsp. pecans, raisins and cinnamon
1/2 grapefruit
12 oz. coffee

Lunch:  Asian Chicken Soup

Heat 2 cups low sodium vegetable broth, 1/2 cup cooked noodles, 3 oz. diced cooked chicken, 1 Tbsp. sliced green onions and 1/2 tsp. minced garlic in saucepan over medium heat.
1 small fruit (orange / pear / apple)
12 oz green tea or water

Dinner:   Chicken Stir Fry with Brown Rice

Cook 3 oz. sliced boneless skinless chicken breast and 1 cup small broccoli florets in 1 Tbsp. olive oil over medium heat, until chicken is done and broccoli is crisp-tender. Stir in 1 tsp. chili sauce and serve over 1/2 cup cooked brown rice
12 oz. green tea or water

Dessert:

1 oz. dark chocolate (at least 70% cacao) and one small orange

Optional Snack

1 oz string cheese and 1 small apple

 

 

 

Please leave your reflection

