You Are Forgiven – No Strings Attached!

Today’s Verse:   Romans 8:1  There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.

This week I have been binge eating.   In spite of all the healthy advice I give out, I still have my weak moments.  After all, I am only human.  My biggest weakness is chocolate.  If it is in the house, I eat it.   So, normally I don’t bring it into the house. However, we just moved my father-in-law into assisted living, and we had to clean out his pantry and kitchen.  Oh my, what a treasure trove of unhealthy foods!

Most of the food was donated to a local food pantry, but I couldn’t resist bringing some of the not-so-good-for-you food home with me.   And so now I am binging.  Today I ate chocolate icing, straight from the can!   Yikes!!!!!

But I know it is just a slip.   I make errors, and then I correct them.   I will be back on my health kick tomorrow.   I have learned to forgive myself for my wayward moments.

This is the wonderful thing about Jesus – no matter how many times we stray, or how often we “binge” in life, he always forgives us.  Again and again.  And then again!   I am always amazed at the number of Christians who don’t believe that they are forgiven.  They tell me that even though they try to be good, they sometimes fail, and they are sure they are going to hell.  I tell them that this is the good news of Jesus Christ – if we repent, he forgives!    There are no strings attached to this forgiveness, he already paid for our sins.

So when you have a weak moment, or day, or week, do not despair!    You can forgive yourself.  Do not beat yourself up or think you have undone all the good you have done.  Remember how Jesus forgives, and you can forgive yourself, again and again.  You can make it work – you are so worth it!

Living Healthy Menu (adapted from Prevention Magazine’s 28 Day Challenge)

Breakfast:  Eggs with Toast

2 hard or soft boiled eggs
1 slice whole wheat toast
6 oz. non-fat Greek yogurt
12 oz. coffee

Lunch:  Tuna Salad Bowl

Toss 3 oz. drained canned tuna (in water) with 2 cups romaine lettuce, 1 sliced cooked beet, 1 cup steamed fresh green beans, and 3 black olives.  Drizzle with 1 Tbsp olive oil and 1 tsp red wine vinegar
12 oz. green tea

Dinner:  Chicken Kabob

Alternately thread 5 cherry tomatos, 1 small onion quartered, 3 oz. boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into chunks and 3 mushrooms onto metal skewers.  Coat with cooking spray and grill until veggies are tender and chicken is cooked through.
Serve over 1/2 cup quinoa or brown rice
Toss 1 cup romaine lettuce with 1/4 avocado, sliced.  Drizzle with 1 tsp olive oil and 1/4 tsp. balsamic vinegar.
12 oz. herbal tea

Dessert:

1 frozen fudge dessert bar rolled in chopped unsalted peanuts

Optional Snack:

6 oz. plain non fat Greek yogurt with 1/2 cup berries

 

 

 

 

Please leave your reflection

