Nothing is too Hard

Today’s verse: Psalm 124:8
Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

What is the hardest thing about a diet, or quitting smoking, or giving up drugs?  It is being disciplined.  We have to really want to do it first of all, and then we have to really be disciplined to continue doing it.   Habits are hard to break.  Once we decide to quit something, we spend our entire days thinking about nothing else.  An addiction is a very difficult thing to get away from.  Don’t be afraid to ask for help from others:   meal ideas, an exercise buddy, someone to call when  you are feeling like you are about to give in,etc.  Your friends or relatives can be life savers in these situations.  Or find someone with a blog that is going through the same thing – misery loves company!

When I think about my lifestyle, my diet, my exercise routine, I think about how much help I get from God.  He guides me through my days, helps me in tough times, picks me up and dusts me off, and sends me on my way again.

But another thing that is hard work is living a Christian lifestyle. Our actions bear witness to our faith – we need to “walk the talk”  so to speak.  I find this incredibly hard to do.   I never want someone to look at me incredulously and say “You’re a Christian? I wouldn’t have known.”   I want them to know by my actions and my behavior.   I want to be a shining light to everyone that I come in contact with.  This takes hard work and discipline.

I know we can all do it!  We can beat our addictions, we can rise above and we can give glory to God for his wondrous love he gives us every day.  Nothing is too hard with God on our side.  

Living Healthy Menu (adapted from Prevention Magazine’s 28 day challenge)

Breakfast:  Yogurt with Fruit

8 oz. non-fat Greek yogurt
1 banana
8 walnut halves
1 Tbsp. ground flaxseed
12 oz. coffee

Lunch:  Chicken Salad

Toss 2 cups mixed greens, 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms, 1/4 cup diced celery, and 3 oz. sliced broiled or grilled chicken breast.  Top with 1 1/2 Tbsp vinaigrette.
1 whole wheat roll
12 oz. green tea

Dinner:  Lemon Chicken (one of my faves!)

Saute 3 oz. chicken breast in 1 tsp. olive oil in skillet with 2 cups shredded cabbage and 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice.   Add 1/4 cup low-sodium, fat free chicken broth.  Serve over 1/2 cup cooked whole grain pasta.
12 oz. herbal tea or water

Dessert:

1/2 cup vanilla ice milk topped with 1 tsp chocolate syrup and 10 unsalted almonds.

Optional Snack:

1/4 cup (30 pcs) unsalted pistachios in the shell
12 oz herbal tea or water.

 

Please leave your reflection

