Never Give Up!

Today’s verse:  Romans 8:26  Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness.  For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groaning too deep for words. 

It is truly hard to stick to a diet.   It is extremely hard to quit smoking.  It is almost impossible to break the addiction of drugs.   It is hard to stick to an exercise program. Being healthy is hard work.  But hard work pays off!   We must face trials and tribulations to succeed.   Nothing that comes to easy is worth it.   A payoff or triumph after hard work is so much more rewarding.

I once decided that I wanted to do a triathlon.  I trained for six months, swimming, biking, and running.  Just trying to raise my kids, go to work and still find time to train was such a struggle.   I worked so hard to reach my goal.  Finally, the weekend of the triathlon arrived, along with a hurricane!   The hurricane passed in time for the event, but it left behind huge, HUGE swells in the river where we were to swim.   I felt so ready to go, but as soon as I got into the river, I was lost.  The waves were ferocious and I thought I would drown.  After all of my hard work, I thought I would have to give up.  But then I thought to myself, “I can do this, I won’t be beat!”   I prayed for strength.  I turned over on my back and swam the entire distance doing the backstroke.   When I got out of the water, and on my bike, I thought I was dying.   But I slowly gained my confidence back and was able to finish the race.

This event taught me a valuable lesson.  Never give up!   No matter how hard life seems, or what challenges we are facing, we can succeed!    We all face our own internal struggles with our addictions, but we can overcome.  With God’s help and our faith, nothing is impossible.   I know that everyone of you has it in you to stick to your diet, to quit smoking, to quit drugs, to overcome eating disorders, or whatever your personal struggle may be.   Pray for strength and never give up!  

Healthy Living Menu (adapted from Prevention Magazine‘s 28 day challenge)

Breakfast:   Lox and Bagel

Spread 1 oz. reduced-fat cream cheese on 1/2 whole wheat bagel.  Top with 1 oz. smoked salmon, 2 slices tomato and cumber.
12 oz. coffee

Lunch:   Lentil Soup and Salad

Combine 1 cup cooked lentils, 1 cup low sodium fat-free chicken broth, 1/4 cup chopped carrots and 2 Tbsp chopped celery in saucepan and heat through
1 medium whole grain roll
12 oz. green tea or water

Dinner:  Shrimp & Veggie Stir-Fry

Stir fry 3 oz peeled and deveined shrimp in 2 tsp canola oil with 2 cups frozen Asian veggies until cooked through.  Stir in 1 tsp each soy sauce and sesame oil. Serve over 1/2 cup brown rice
1/4 cup cantelope
12 oz herbal tea

Dessert:

1/2 vanilla ice milk
1 tsp chocolate syrup
7 walnut halves

Optional Snack:

Whole wheat pita stuffed with 1 oz low fat turkey breast, 2 slices tomato, 1 leaf lettuce and 1 tsp Dijon mustard

2 thoughts on “Never Give Up!

Please leave your reflection

