Keep Calm, and Pray On

Today’s Verse:  1 Corinthians 10:13 “No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.”

I missed writing yesterday for my blog.   I went out of town for the weekend to celebrate my birthday/Mother’s Day.   When I returned Sunday evening, I was completely wiped out.   Although I had a fabulous weekend, I completely gave in to my addictions.  I overate, smoked, and was generally just an unhealthy blob during the trip.

I know that everyone has setbacks.   For me, there are certain triggers that set me off this path.   My twin sister is a trigger. She and I meet a few times a year for a visit.   We used to both smoke so when we get together, we indulge  – it’s a habit.   I know that I will not start again (I quit over 20 years ago) and limit my addiction to one or two weekends each year.   But she is a recent quitter and I feel terrible that I enabled her.  (I’m so sorry Mary Sue!)

But we both trust that God will lead us back to the right path.   Everyone slips up sometimes and he is our ROCK!  He never lets us down. During my trip, I saw a billboard that captured the popular Keep Calm slogan, and I thought it was perfect for my sister and I, and anyone else having difficulty sticking to a commitment:  “Keep calm, and pray on”.

Do not panic if you back slide.   Do not give up or give in to your addictions.  It’s ok to have a slip as long as you pick yourself up, keep calm, and pray for continued strength and guidance.  We all have struggles, but God will provide a way of escape through prayer.    God bless you and help you in your trials.

Healthy Living Menu  (adapted from Prevention Magazine‘s 28 Day Challenge)

Breakfast:  Cold Cereal

1 cup unsweetened high fiber cereal with 1 cup fat free milk
1 cup sliced strawberries
12 oz. coffee

Lunch:  Turkey Wrap

Put 3 oz. low fat turkey breast, 1/2 cup shredded cabbage, 1 Tbsp dried sweetened cranberries, and 1 Tbsp low-fat Italian dressing on large whole grain wrap.
12 oz. green or herbal tea or water

Dinner:  Broiled Crab Cake and Soup

Broil 3 oz. crabmeat cake and serve on a small whole grain roll with lettuce, bell pepper and lemon juice.
8 oz. canned tomato-basil soup (prepared with water).
12 oz. herbal tea

Dessert: 

1 oz. dark chocolate
1 small orange

Optional Snack:

1 oz. string cheese
1 small apple

 

 

Please leave your reflection

