Addiction Hurts

Today’s verse:   James 1:2 Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

My extended family is full of addicts- there are drug addicts, over-eaters, gamblers, heavy drinkers, you name it, it’s in my family.  I myself have an obsessive personality, addicted to a number of things.  Whatever the case may be,  my life is surrounded by addicts.  For them I write this blog.   I write it for you if you are struggling with addictions of any kind. And I write it for myself, to help myself with daily reminders.

Addictions can take many forms.   They can sneak up on us.  And they hurt.  They hurt us and they hurt those who love us.  Someone very dear to me recently sent me the following text:  “Smoking weed has become so habitual that it isn’t even fun anymore.  I fill my lack of a social life with drugs.  I de-stress with drugs.  I have become a functioning addict.  But what I want is to channel my energy and frustrations into positivity, but without the use of mind-altering substances.  As it stands, my body loves SO MUCH the altered state of being that smoking / drinking / drugs bring about.  I can’t deny that it feels good.  But it is a fleeting feeling, always chasing it and never sustaining it. …I need to find a new outlet for my anger and social aloneness.”

This kind of awareness, of wanting to change but not being able to, breaks my heart. My first response is always that I will pray for you.   For any of you struggling with an addiction, I pray for you.  For anyone who is hurting because their loved one is an addict, I pray for you.   And I give thanks and praise to God for anyone who has overcome an addiction.

My second response is to find something that can fill the “social aloneness”.   Join a gym or get a friend and walk.   Exercise can become addictive with positive, not negative results.   Take a cooking class and learn to eat healthy.  This also can become addictive and has great benefits.   Take up a hobby, read, learn something new.

I realize that addictions cannot be overcome as easily as taking up a new hobby.  But it, combined with prayer, can get you on the right track, and eventually you may reach your goal.   I pray this for you!

Healty Living Menu  (adapted from Prevention Magazine‘s 28 day challenge)

Breakfast:  Cold Cereal

1 cup unsweetened high-fiber cereal topped with 1 cup sliced strawberries
1 cup fat-free milk
12 oz. coffee

Lunch:  Hummus Pita

Stuff whole wheat pita with 1/2 cup hummus, 1/2 cup shredded romaine lettuce, and 2 tomato slices.  Top with 1/2 cup grated cucumber mixed wiwth 2 Tbsp non-fat plain Greek yogurt.
12 oz. green or herbal tea or water

Dinner:  Seafood Provencale

Saute 3 large peeled and deveined shrimp and 2 sea scallops in 1 Tbsp olive oil with 1 clover minced garlic and 1 Tbsp diced onion until just cooked through.  Add 1/2 cup low-sodium vegetable broth, 1/2 cup diced tomato, and 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice and heat through

Dessert

1 oz. dark chocolate (at least 70% cacao)
1 small orange

Optional Snack:

1 oz. string cheese
1 small apple

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please leave your reflection

