Struggles Can Be Blessings

Today’s verse:   Romans 5:  3-5  “….but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.”

Life is a constant ebb and flow of victories and defeats. Sometimes we succeed, and sometimes we fail.  We all struggle with things at times.  When we do, the important thing is that we pick ourselves us, dust ourselves off and keep going.

Somewhere inside of every struggle is a lesson and a blessing.  It may not be obvious at the time, when you are in the middle of despair, but it is there, waiting to be discovered. We need to ask ourselves what we can learn from this failure or struggle.

When we are at our darkest hour, and we think we cannot go on, or we think life is so unfair, take a moment to step back and count your blessings.   Life may not be going your way, but there is always some bright spot.  There are thousands of rags to riches stories, but that is not the reality for most of us. Most of us have to deal with daily struggles such as paying the bills, living through a divorce, dealing with an addiction (yourself or a family member).  How can we see blessings in this?

I remember when I was in college and thought my world had come to an end, my mother told me to be strong, that time would take care of everything. I thought she was nuts.  How could I get better?  I remember lying in bed with the covers over my head and I swore I was never getting up again. I was sincerely depressed. Now, when I look back I realize how right she was.  I was hurt and angry, and it took time to heal.   But when I did, I was stronger, and had learned never to get hurt like that again.  I also learned that my mom was a rock who I could lean on, and she was always there for me. She is still with me, offering advice and support and she is truly a blessing to me.

Lessons learned:  Trust time. Trust in yourself. Lean on others.  “Time heals all wounds.”   “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.”   When the going gets tough, the tough get going.”   You’ll get by with a little help from your friends.”  “If life gives you lemons, make lemonade”.  “Everything happens for a reason.”   These are many cliches, but they are true. But most importantly, trust in God. Lean on God.

God is always there, waiting for us to lean on him.  We may not understand his plan, we may want to rush his timing.  Be patient.  He will deliver blessings to you in his time, and the ultimate reward is waiting for you if you believe.  God bless you all richly and shower blessings on you!

 

 

 

 

Please leave your reflection

