Struggling with Addiction

Today’s verse:  1 Thessalonians 5:16-18  “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

My daughter-in-law works as a social worker for those with eating disorders. Talk about a difficult addiction!  When I think of being on a diet, I think I suffer from having to cut back on my sweets. I really cannot even imagine the pain and suffering that someone with bulimia or anorexia goes through, or the mental anguish that leads to this addiction in the first place.  Any addiction is hurtful and hard to break free of.  Interestingly, my DIL told me recently that she notices that those who have faith seem to heal faster than those who do not. Not surprising to me, and studies have proven this.  The power of prayer is amazing!   I would like to put that power to use today, if you will join me.

I have been following a blog which has touched me deeply.  It is written by someone who has truly suffered the pains of addiction, and is working hard to find faith in God to help overcome this addiction.  I pray for her daily, and encourage her to let God love her. I sent her the a prayer (see below).  Please join me to pray for her in her journey, that she may know God and His love, that she may find peace and strength to overcome her addiction, that God bless her and her son.  If you feel so moved, leave a prayer comment in my blog. The love of God will surround her and she will heal with the help of all of our prayers.  Thank you all.

So many times in our life we are faced with overwhelming situations and/or decisions. We tend to fall back into bad habits, we hurt others and we hurt ourselves. When this happens, we need to to pray without ceasing. God will not fail us and although it may take time to see his response, it will come. Praying can’t hurt, it can only be beneficial.  What have you got to lose by trying?   And always in your prayers, remember to give thanks and glory to God.   Blessings to all prayer warriors!

Spiritual Nutrition Prayer 

I’d like to end today’s blog with  a prayer rather than a menu item – spiritual nutrition for today 😉  – I paraphrased this from one of my favorite blogs, Faith and Health Connection.

A Prayer for Strength and Spiritual Growth

“Dear Lord: I pray that your Son, Christ Jesus, will make His home in my heart as I trust in Him. I pray that my roots will grow down into Your love and keep me strong. And may I have the power to understand how wide, how long, how high, and how deep Your love really is. May I experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then I will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from You.

You are able, through Your mighty power at work within me, to accomplish infinitely more than I might ask or think. Glory to You in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen.
Struggle

5 thoughts on “Struggling with Addiction

Please leave your reflection

