A Mother’s Love

Today’s verse:  Proverbs 31: 25-30 “Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come. She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue. She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: “Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.” Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.”

A bit off topic today…..

I am blessed to be a mother to two beautiful boys who are as different as night and day.  I have always joked that one is my angel, and the other one is my….  well, let’s just say he is not as angelic. They Mike and Erikare both grown and married now, but this picture from their youth captures their personalities perfectly – can you guess which one has the halo and which one has horns?

As a mother, I never stop worrying about them, even though they are fully grown, self-sufficient adults. So when one hurts, I hurt. Today my older one had life hit him hard in the face. It is really somewhat foreign to him, someone whose life has always been so charmed. Even though I am miles away, I can feel his pain and disappointment. I want to be able to comfort him and assure him that life is sometimes disappointing, but it gets better.  I want him to not be sad and discouraged.  I want to make it all better.  But he doesn’t want that. He is after all, an adult male with pride who doesn’t need his mommy.

And so I pray.  I pray that he will recover from this setback. I pray that God will give him strength.  I pray that he can see past this disappointment and that there is a purpose for everything.  I want him to be happy so I also pray for that.  I pray that his wife can put up with  him throughout this misery period.  I pray as only a  mother can pray with all my motherly love.

Then I think about the love that God our Father has for us, and how he hurts for us when we are hurting. The immense love that he has and the comfort he gives is just like a mother’s love for her child.  It is all encompassing.  So I will not give up hope. I will continue to believe that God knows what he is doing, and that he will not fail my son.

I dedicate the following song to both of my sons.  The words are from Jesus to us but could very well be from a mother to a child.   “I Was There to Hear your Borning Cry”.    It is so beautiful and one of my favorite hymns.

Blessings to everyone today – may your day be filled with God’s love!

Today’s Healthy Menu Suggestion

Skinny Orange Sesame Chicken

Ingredients:

1 1/4 lbs skinless chicken breasts (3-4 breasts)
1 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 cup orange juice
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup ketchup
2 Tbsp rice vinegar
2 Tbsp corn starch
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp orange zest
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
4 cups brown rice
Toasted sesame seeds
Sliced green onions

Directions:
Cut chicken into 1 inch cubes and season with salt and pepper.   Heat oil in frying pan and add chicken.  Cook, stirring occasionally until nearly done.
*Tip:  It will finish cooking when you add the sauce so don’t overcook here*

Cook the rice according to package directions.   Toast sesame seeds by spreading in a thin layer on baking sheet with deep sides and baking at 350 degrees for 8-15 minutes.  *Keep an eye on these – they will burn easily if heat is too high. Check on them frequently*

In a bowl add together all other ingredients except rice, green onions and sesame seeds.  Whisk thoroughly and add to the chicken in the saucepan.  Let sauce come to a boil. Lower heat and continue to cook for 2-3 minutes until sauce is thickened.

Remove from heat and serve over rice.  Garnish with green onions and toasted sesame seeds.

 

 

One thought on “A Mother’s Love

Please leave your reflection

