Some Difficult Things to do

Today’s verse:  2 Corinthians 12:8-10  “Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Life is often difficult.  I love the following list of difficult things to do.  I found this years ago and have had it posted where I can see it daily.  I urge you to read it carefully and meditate on each one; I am sure you will see yourself in some of them. I don’t know the author, but I find him/her very wise.

Some Difficult Things to Do:

  • To admit guilt
  • To break a habit
  • To love an enemy
  • To think logically
  • To confess ignorance
  • To withhold judgement
  • To grow old gracefully
  • To perservere without haste
  • To wait without impatience
  • To decide without prejudice
  • To suffer without complaint
  • To know when to keep silent
  • To be indifferent to ridicule
  • To hate the sin, yet love the sinner
  • To concentrate in the midst of strife
  • To endure hatred without resentment
  • To fraternize without losing individuality
  • To serve without compensation, commendation or recognition

We can never hope to be perfect and to accomplish all of the above, but we can try. With God’s help we can.  As the Bible verse today says, when I am weak, I am strong, for His power is made great in weakness.    May your life be not too difficult today!  Blessings to all.

Today’s Healthy Living Menu Suggestion

Flourless Oatmeal Bars

**The chickpeas replace flour in this recipe and will make bars moist, low in fat, high in fiber, and rich in antioxidants.   And it includes chocolate – my fave!!

Ingredients

1 can (15 oz) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
2 eggs
1/2 reduced fat creamy peanut butter
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2/3 cup white chocolate morsels,
1/2 cup quick cooking oats
1/3 cup dried cranberries
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Lightly spray wells of cupcake or brownie pan with non-stick cooking spray.

Place chickpeas and eggs in food processor and process until well blended.
Note: Mixture will not be smooth.

Transfer mixture from processor to large bowl.  Add peanut butter and vanilla and mix well.  Add 1/3 cup of the morsels, oats, cranberries, brown sugar, baking soda and salt.  Mix until combined (use spatula to mix, not mixer).

Divide mixture evenly into tins.  Bake 16-18 minutes.   Remove and let cool five minutes.

Place remaining 1/3 cup morsels in microwave safe bowl and microwave on high one minute, stirring every 15 seconds or until melted.  Transfer to resealable plastic bag and twist top shut.  Trim a small corner off the bag and drizzle melted chocolate evenly over top of bars.

Please leave your reflection

