Where Have All the Faithful Gone?

Today’s verse:  Proverbs 3: 6  In everything you do, put God first, and he will direct you and crown your efforts with success.”

I started this blog as a way to help my sister and my son, both of whom struggle with addictions and are unhealthy.  I thought a faith-based health blog would be good for them, and I hoped it could help others along the way.  I have written before about not caring how many followers I have, if I can help just one, then I know I have succeeded. However, let’s admit it, it is nice to see how many views and likes you get each day. And it’s a thrill to get new followers.   Unfortunately neither my sister nor my son read it.

I also write an exercise blog, just for fun.  I try to find a way to tie in the word of the day and do occasional posts if I am inspired by that word.  I don’t write every day on that blog, but I write a few times a week.

What has really been astounding to me is that my exercise blog, which is just fluff and written for fun, always gets triple the amounts of likes and views that my faith blog gets. I love the fact that it gets a lot of attention, and I appreciate my followers immensely, but I worry what that means.  Is it because there are more athletes than Christians?  Is it because I write better about fitness than faith?   Is there more interest in ourselves and our bodies than in Christ?

Sadly, I believe this is the state of the world today.  I’m not saying that readers of my exercise blog are not Christian, but it is sad to me that I can attract so many more readers to that blog than I can to this one. People just don’t care as much about their health and faith these days.   So disappointing……

Sometimes it is hard to be a Christian.  I strive to put God first in my life and to be the best that I can be, but I know that I fall short sometimes.  I know that God forgives me and loves me.  I will be obedient to God and will do my best to follow him and inspire others to turn their life to Christ.   

Healthy Living Menu Suggestion

Summer is a great time for all things squash.   They are in abundance now and are so very good for you!

Shaved Squash Salad  (serves 6)

Ingredients

1 bunch green onions
1 tsp plus 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil, plus more for garnish
1/4 cup rice vinegar
1 Tbsp. Dijon mustard
1 Tbsp. honey
1 lb. yellow summer squash
1 pt. grape tomatoes, halved
1 can black eyed peas, drained
6 cups arugula
1 cup ricotta cheese (or substitute low fat cottage cheese)
Sea salt for garnish

Directions:

Heat large grill pan on high.  Toss green onions with 1 tsp olive oil.  Grill 5-6 minutes or until very tender and starting to char.  Turn occasionally. Transfer to cutting board and thinly slice

In medium bowl, whisk vinegar, mustard and honey, stir in green onions, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp black pepper.  While whisking, drizzle in remaining 1/2 cup oil. Set aside.

With vegetable peeler or sharp chef’s knife, very thinly slice squash into ribbons.  In large bowl, toss squash with tomatoes, peas and half of vinegar mixture until well-coated.  Taste and add more vinegar mixture as desired.

Divide arugula among 6 plates, tope with squash misture and large dollop of cheese.  Drizzle with olive oil and garnish with coarse sea salt, if desired.

 

Please leave your reflection

