Today’s Child

Today’s verse:  Matthew 19:14  “Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”

Today’s children are a different breed from when I grew up.  I know every generation thinks they were the best, and that life was better when they were young.  Many of us look back with fond memories of our childhood.

I remember from my childhood that we played outside continuously, never wanting to come in.  We did not sit in front of a screen for hours (Lol- I come from the age before computers, and only had one black and white 19″ TV). We spent hours in the sun, we ate whatever we wanted, we did not wear seat belts,etc. etc. I am sure you have seen those items on Facebook that talk about how it is possible that we all lived so long when we lived so dangerously.  But we were basically healthy, and we are living well into our 80s and 90s.

However, today’s child has the advantage of knowing better.   We know what the sun can do to you and skin cancer is a very real danger (I have been treated twice for this). We know that sugar and fats are not good for you, and we know how to eat healthier. Kids today have better choices in school lunches and vending machines.

So why are today’s kids still unhealthy?   Is it the lack of exercise?  Is it bad parenting choices?   It really bothers me to see a child going down a path of bad eating habits and indoor-only living.   We need to take charge of this problem and promote healthy living, or our future generations will be in trouble.   We all know the right thing to do, so let’s get these kids on a healthy path through diet and exercise.

I am teaching Vacation Bible School this week at my church. I was looking at the faces of the kids last night in my class.  I pray that all of them will grow up healthy and happy.  In addition to learning good eating and exercise habits, I want them to know Jesus. They yell all the right words about Jesus and sing the right songs, but do they really get the message?  It is my hope and prayer that we get through to these innocents to lead them on a righteous path.   I will do whatever I can to teach these children about Jesus and pray that they will live healthy, happy days ahead in the path of the Lord.  Blessings to all of the children, our future!

Healthy Living Recipe Idea

Cioppino (fish stew)

If you love fish or seafood, you will LOVE this dish.   Tons of protein too!

In a 8 qt. saucepot, heat 3 Tbsp. oil on medium.
Add 1 finely chopped medium onion,2 cloves of garlic minced, and 1/2 tsp salt.
Cook and stir for 8 minutes

Add 1 can (28 oz.) crushed tomatoes, 2 bottles (8 oz. each) clam juice, and 2 Tbsp. butter.  
Heat to simmering on high.

Add 1 lb shrimp (shelled and deveined), 2 lbs mussels, and 1 lb boneless cod fillet, cut into chunks (any white fish will do – I prefer to use swai).

Cover and simmer 10-12 minutes or until most mussels have opened.  Discard any unopened ones.  Sprinkle with chopped parsley and serve in bread bowls with crusty bread.

Please leave your reflection

