Second Chances

Today’s verse:  Lamentations 3:21-23  “But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”

Did you ever wish you could have a “do over”?   Would you live your life differently if you knew then what you know now?   Our health and well being are directly related to the decisions we make and can have an adverse affect on our future.

Many of us have made decisions in our past that we wish we could undo.  Many times we have said or done things that are harmful to ourselves and/or others.  If I hadn’t wanted to impress that one boy in high school, I never would have started smoking.  I wouldn’t have practiced smoking with my sister so that in the end, we were both hooked (and in the end the boy dumped me for someone with bigger boobs!)

Other things I’ve done I am sorry for, but I wouldn’t change them.   My first marriage turned out to be a mistake, but from it I got two wonderful boys (now men).  I got to live overseas and learn Spanish, which led to a great career for me after my divorce that allowed me to travel all over the world.  So in a backwards way, that marriage was a blessing.

There are so many things that I would have done differently.   If I knew the difficulties of raising a teenager, I never would have screamed at my parents and told them I hated them.  I never would have gone for years without speaking to them.   I thank God every day that I made amends with my dad before he passed away.

Decisions we make can affect our life forever.  Let’s be sure to make good ones.  Think about how they will affect you in the future.   One mantra I repeated constantly to my sons:  “You alone are responsible for your actions and the consequences.”

God is always standing by, ready to give us a second chance.  He never gives up on us.  In Vacation Bible School this week, we are teaching the kids about God giving us direction.  We only have to look to him and he will lead us on the right path, and hold us up along the way.  Our God is not a vengeful God, he is merciful and kind and will forgive us for all of our sins and wrongdoings, big or small.  He will give us as many do-overs or second chances as we need, as long as we believe in him.  Blessings to all on your path to the future.

Healthy Living Recipe

Nutty Chicken Noodles  (see peanut alternative sauce below*)

In large skillet, heat 1 Tbsp. oil on medium-high.  Add 12 oz. skinless, boneless chicken breast, thinly sliced, 3 cups sliced red cabbage, 1 cup shredded carrots, and 2 cloves chopped garlic.  Cook 5  minutes.

Whisk together 1/4 cup each cider vinegar, peanut butter (or other nut butter), soy sauce, and chicken broth; add to skillet along with 8 oz. cooked rice noodles or Chinese egg noodles.  Top with chopped peanuts and cilantro leaves.

*For peanut alternative sauce, whish together 1/4 cup fish sauce, 1/4 cup lime juice, 1 crushed garlic clove, and 1 Tbsp. brown sugar.

 

Please leave your reflection

