Living on the Dark Side

Today’s verse:  Psalm 71: 5-6    ” For You are my hope, O Lord GOD; You are my trust from my youth. By You I have been upheld from birth; You are He who took me out of my mother’s womb.  My praise shall be continually of You.”

Where did I  go wrong?   Do you ever ask yourself this question?   How did I end up the way I am?  Is there some force directing our lives, sending us down the wrong road?  Why do we chose to take actions that we know are bad for us, and bad for our health?

I was brought up in a very conservative, fairly religious family.  I went to Sunday school every week, never missed a Sunday service, said grace before every supper.  I was taught to respect my elders, be kind to animals, never to say naughty words. Smoking and drugs were forbidden in our home. So why did all of my brothers and sister and I all start smoking and doing drugs in high school?   Why do we all drink more than we should?  It is not the way we were raised.  Maybe it was teenage rebellion, going against our strict parents. Maybe it was just being cool in school, so we could be popular.   Who really knows what turns us to the dark side of health?    The problem is, the “dark” side is seductive and sucks you in, and never wants to let go.  So how do we get out?

There are thousands of addiction centers and doctors which offer help for every imaginable addiction.  But before any of those work, the addicted one has to want to be helped.   And then they have to keep wanting it, and they have to do it for themselves. Until that decision is made, it is impossible to leave the dark side.   Others cannot do it for us, we must want to make the change.

Thankfully, I have turned my life around from those days. As a young adult, I moved around quite a bit, and the one constant in my life was the church.  When I went to a new city, I always looked first for a church home for me and my boys. I felt that if we had that solid foundation, there was nothing that life could throw at us that we couldn’t handle. As the verse above says, God has been my trust since my youth.  I am so thankful that my parents raised us in a religious home.  Whenever I am tempted or when I struggle, I ask God for strength, and he props me up and helps me along. God is such a friend and is always there.  Never be afraid to turn all of your problems over to God and he will see you through.  Praise to God!   Blessings to all for a fabulous weekend.

Healthy Living Recipe

Here’s a great trio of salads that, when served together, make a super summer meal!

Fresh Egg Salad   (serves 4)

4 hard cooked eggs, chopped
1 cup chopped cucumber
1/2 cup sliced green onions
1/3 cup plain low-fat Greek yogurt
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper

In a medium bowl, stir together all ingredients and chill for up to 2 hours. Serve with cocktail rye bread (3 slices per person)

Cucumber Tomato Salad (serves 4)

Combine in a large bowl:
4 cups cucumber chunks
4 cups halved cherry tomatoes

Drizzle with 1/4 cup bottled red wine vinaigrette and toss to coat
Sprinkle with a dash of black pepper

Fruit and Feta Salad (serves 4)

In a bowl combine 3 cups cubed, seeded watermelon and 1 1/3 cups fresh blueberries.
Sprinkle with 2 tablespoons reduced fat feta cheese.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Living on the Dark Side

Please leave your reflection

