The Privilege of Blessings

Today’s verse:   Psalm 103:2  “Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits”

I was raised in a middle class family, born in a free country. I was born one of the “white privileged” people, who has never really known any discrimination against me. I was blessed with good genes, which allow me to be tall and fairly thin.  I have been blessed with good health and with a good life. I have a wonderful marriage, I retired from a great job which allowed me to travel all over the world, I have two wonderful, successful, healthy sons.  I count my blessings every day.

But often I wonder why I am so blessed. I abuse my health. I don’t always take care of myself. So why do I continue to have so many blessings? Why was I born into this privileged life? Why have I been given so many advantages, by way of my race and my country?  Why wasn’t I born into a war-torn nation, or a country where children are starving?  Why wasn’t I born to an abusive parent, or with a condition that disables me?  Why am I so lucky to be me?   Why are some people born into poverty and suffer hunger all of their lives? Why are some people born into a race that is discriminated against, for hundreds of years?  Why are some people born with birth defects, or get cancer, or die?

Who can answer these questions?  I wish I knew why.  But I do know that God has a plan. Every single one of us is valuable in His eyes.  He gave me my blessings for whatever his reason. I am so thankful and I will share them with others. I continually try to show God my appreciation for all the blessings he has bestowed upon me. I try to never take for granted what I have.

I was working the other night at a dinner to feed the homeless in our area, and one of the gentleman asked me why I would want to “help a bunch of dirty, homeless people who came in, ate our food, didn’t clean up after themselves, clogged up the toilets, were generally unappreciative and then left, leaving us to clean up.” “Why do you care about us?” he asked.  I told him I felt called to help others.  I told him that I had been incredibly blessed in life and wanted to share the blessings.  I told him I wasn’t doing it to earn brownie points, or get a pat on the back for being a good person, but because I honestly believe that God wants us to “share the wealth”.

God has blessed us with so much that I can’t help but give back. We need to remember this as we abuse our bodies with unhealthy acts. We need to count our blessings and take care of ourselves and our blessings so we can be blessings to others. No matter what your station or circumstance in life, never forget to praise God and count your blessings! 

Healthy Living Recipe  (from American Diabetes Association)

Spinach Pesto Chicken Salad Wrap

Ingredients:
1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breasts
½ teaspoon ground black pepper, divided
1 teaspoon dried basil
3 cups baby spinach (large stems removed)
2 tablespoons pine nuts, toasted
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
¼ cup light mayonnaise
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 tablespoons freshly grated Parmesan cheese
¼ teaspoon garlic powder
5 6-inch corn tortillas or other whole-grain tortilla or wrap

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray.

Season the chicken breasts with 1/4 teaspoon black pepper and dried basil. Bake for 35 minutes or until done. Put the chicken breasts in the refrigerator to cool.

In a food processor, combine the spinach, pine nuts, lemon juice, and mayonnaise. Lightly pulse. With the machine running, add the olive oil, blending until the mixture is creamy. Stir in the Parmesan cheese, garlic powder, and 1/4 teaspoon black pepper.

Cut the cooked chicken into 1/2-inch pieces and shred. In a medium bowl, combine the chicken and pesto sauce; mix well.

Serve 1/2 cup chicken salad in each tortilla. Fold in the two sides of the tortilla and roll like a burrito. You can serve these immediately or wrap tightly in plastic wrap and refrigerate.

Please leave your reflection

