Never Fear – You Can Have a “Do-Over”

Today’s Verse:  Isaiah 41: 10  “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” 

Change is difficult.  Change is scary.  And change is hard – very hard.   We all have habits that we would like to break – overeating is my downfall, along with the occasionally foray into smoking.  I just can’t seem to stop these habits.  I go for a long while and behave, and then my cravings take over and I can’t seem to stop the backslide.

When we are tempted to fall back into our bad habits, or continue with our bad habits, we need to have courage and face the future.  We must never fear.  If something is bad for us, how scary can the future be, if we know we will be healthier?    Never fear the future.  We cannot know what God has in store for us, but we know that he will not lead us astray.  We know that he will help us and guide us.  We know that he has a plan for us, and his plan does not include destroying our health.

I often promise God things that I cannot really do alone – I promise to stay on my diet, I promise to never drink or smoke again.  And for some time, it works.  If I think about straying, I remember my promise to God and I don’t do it.  But slowly,  I fall back.  I think, “Well just once won’t hurt”.  And before you know it, I have forgotten my promise and fallen again.  But the great news is that God forgives me and lets me have another chance.   I get a “do-over”.   No matter how many times I fall, God will pick me up and save me.   His love is unending.

So don’t be afraid of change.  Don’t think that God will not lift you up, again and again. The great news of Jesus Christ is that He bore our sins, and we are free.  God will always be there, our strength and our rock.    A blessing to all (from Rod Stewart’s “Forever Young”):

May the good Lord be with you
Down every road you roam
And may sunshine and happiness
surround you when you’re far from home
And may you grow to be proud
Dignified and true
And do unto others
As you’d have done to you

Healthy Living Recipe  – Easy to make, easy to love!

Turkey Meatloaf

Ingredients:
1/2 pound ground turkey
1 egg
1/4 cup salsa
1/8 cup chopped red bell pepper
1/8 cup chopped yellow bell pepper
1/4 cup chopped onion
1/4 cup dry bread crumbs
lemon pepper to taste

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350° F
In a large bowl combine the turkey, egg, salsa, red bell pepper, yellow bell pepper, onion, bread crumbs and lemon pepper. Mix well with hands until blended. Roll into a small loaf and place on a foil-lined baking sheet.
Bake in the preheated oven for 25 minutes.

Please leave your reflection

