Forgive Thyself

Today’s verse:  Colossians 1:13-14  “He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins”

We have all done things in life that we are not proud of.  If you are like me, this trend continues.  I’m talking really bad things that we do.  I think if I am honest with myself, I have to say that I have broken every one of the 10 commandments.  I have done some awful things that I have great difficulty accepting.

Sometimes it’s not the big things that I do that I feel bad and guilty about. Sometimes I make a promise to God that I won’t do something anymore (like smoking), but then I do it anyway.   I feel broken and depressed when this happens. Have you ever been there?

The best news is that God forgives us – all we have to do is ask and believe.  It’s that simple.  So why do we still ask forgiveness over and over for the same thing?  It’s not because God hasn’t forgiven us, it’s because we haven’t forgiven ourselves.    It took me a long time to realize this.   God is merciful and good, and His son died on the cross for us.  That’s all it took – with Jesus’s death came our forgiveness.  We are forgiven because He was forsaken.

So we need to forgive ourselves.  God has already done so.   It is indeed very difficult to forgive ourselves, and we can carry guilt around like a heavy burden for years.  It’s time to let go of the burden, realize that we are right with God, and move forward. Take a step today and let go – don’t beat yourself up anymore over something you did in the past.  It is a freeing feeling and you will feel the love of God surrounding you.  Many blessings to all as you forgive thyself. 

Healthy Living Recipe

In today’s busy world, crock pots are a lifesaver. Here is one of my favorite recipes which is healthy and quick.

Crockpot Salsa Chicken

Mix:
1 cup salsa
1 can low fat cream of chicken or cream of mushroom soup
1 pack of taco seasoning

Pour over 4 chicken breasts in crock pot and cook on low 6-7 hours

Shred chicken and serve with low fat sour cream. Serve over brown rice or wrap in whole wheat tortillas.

Please leave your reflection

