Aging Gracefully

Today’s Verse:  Titus 2: 2-5  “Older men are to be temperate, dignified, sensible, sound in faith, in love, in perseverance. Older women likewise are to be reverent in their behavior, not malicious gossips nor enslaved to much wine, teaching what is good, so that they may encourage the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be sensible, pure, workers at home, kind, being subject to their own husbands, so that the word of God will not be dishonored”

Growing old is not easy.  As I approach the big 6-0 I realize this more every day.  I cannot do what I could do when I was 30, or even 40.   The gray hairs are coming more rapidly every day, and the bones are weakening.  My strength is not as it once was, and I tire more easily.
But with age comes wisdom. Oh if I only knew then what I know now, how different live could have been.  But as the Bible says in Ecclesiastes 7:8 “Better is the end of a thing than its beginning”.   We may not be able to do as much now, but hopefully we are not doing the stupid things we did when we were younger.   I mistreated my body so badly in my youth.  Thankfully I turned it around before I got into serious health trouble, and have tried to remain healthy ever since.
In my older, yet wiser years, I have learned the benefits of exercise, of healthy eating, and of not smoking and drinking to excess.  I remember the party nights when I would gorge myself with junk food, drink until drunk, smoke my lungs out, engage in casual sex and drugs.  Why???
I recently was shocked to see a picture of my ex-husband, who is my age.  We both partook of all of the above together and lived the party life.   When I saw his picture honestly I didn’t recognize him.  We are the same age, but he looks years older (gives me just a wee bit of satisfaction, I must admit).  We abused ourselves and it took its toll.  I am glad I quit all of that when I did!
On the other hand, I look at my mother, who is 89 years old and still going strong. She has recently begun doing yoga and it has helped her tremendously with balance and flexibility.  She never smoked, drank very little, and has walked fairly regularly for years.  She has also always had a very strong faith.  I can see that it makes a huge difference in her life and her independence.  I hope to age gracefully like she has.   She is amazing!
There are many instances in the Bible where God has taken care of the “old” people. Think about what he did for Moses, Abraham and Sarah, among others. He doesn’t forget us in our old age, instead he blesses us for our faithfulness.  He also uses us as examples for the young. There are hundreds of verses in Proverbs about wisdom, and hopefully we have gained some in our golden years. So if you are young, heed the warning and turn off the bad health habits; if you are aging, live strong, be a good example, and age gracefully as God takes us to our final destination. Blessings to all as you age with wisdom.

Healthy Living Recipe

Today seems like a good day to try something new. I have never made this before but I have altered the recipe a bit so that it is not quite as fattening. It is not the healthiest thing to eat but it looks amazing!

Eggplant Parmesan

Slice eggplant into 1/4″ – 1/2″ slices and let sit in a colander to sweat for 30 minutes.
Pat dry with a paper towel.

In a bowl, mix  3/4 breadcrumbs, 3/4 cup Parmesan cheese, 1 tsp dried oregano, and 1/2 tsp dried basil.

Dip sliced eggplant in egg, then dredge in bread crumb mixture.  Place on a baking sheet brushed with oil  and bake at 375° F for  20-25 minutes until brown on bottom. Turn and continue baking for an additional 20-25 minutes until browned on other side. Remove from oven and raise temperature to 400° F.

Spread pasta sauce (chunky tomato) on bottom of 9×13″ baking dish.  Arrange a layer of eggplant, cover with more sauce and 1/2 cup low fat mozzarella, repeat layers. Sprinkle additional Parmesan cheese on top.   Bake 15-20 minutes until sauce is bubbling and cheese is melted.  Let stand 5 minutes before serving.

Please leave your reflection

